The Problem With GW2 Limitations And How We Might Fix It

This forum is a catch all for all posts that do not belong in other forums.

The Problem With GW2 Limitations And How We Might Fix It

Postby Gravenblade » Sun Jun 26, 2016 12:27 am

Hello forums and all who inhabit it! Firstly, I would like to give a big "thanks" to Proteininja for making all this possible. I wanted to give a heads up, too, that this is an educational post. I've been seeing a lot of fantastic work made for GW2, but also a few songs that are a little disappointing but not on any fault of the composer, and I wanted to help everyone here understand why some songs we love sound so good and why some sound so wrong when written for the GW2 instruments. Also, apologies for this very, very long post. Onto the meat of the topic!

I love music. I've been a student of it in some capacity or another for nearly half my life and I love what it can do to and for people. I think all of us here enjoy music, otherwise we wouldn't be here writing and requesting songs, but I feel like there's an elephant in the room that we should address. We've all heard a song that we love get rendered into a playable format for GW2 instruments but it just doesn't sound right, right? Well the problem rests on how GW2 has allowed us to play instruments. I'll try to explain as best as I can, and cover the basics.